

# International Workshop on ICTP Regional Climate Model: Applications over South Asia CORDEX Domain



Organized by Department of Physics, Dibrugarh University (22-28 February, 2021)

## Theme of the Workshop:

The Regional Climate Model (RegCM) maintained in the Earth System Physics division of The Abdus International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) is a widely used community model. has evolved from its first version RegCM1, in 1989 to the most recent fully matured version RegCM4 including nonhydrostatic dynamical core of Mesoscale Model-version 5 (MM5). The focus of the current workshop will be the application of RegCM4, coupled with full Gas-phase Chemistry, Ocean model-MITgcm and Hydrological model-CHyM etc. over the South Asia CORDEX Domain (https://cordex.org/domains/). The model is flexible, portable, easy to use and can be applied to any region of the globe for a wide range of studies, from process based investigations to the paleoclimate and future climate simulations. Details on the model and the relevant Regional Climate Research Network are available at the ICTP website (www.ICTP.it).

### Who can Apply:

Faculties, Scientists, Post-Doctoral Fellows, PhD Scholars working in the relevant research area

#### **Contact Email ID:**

regcmworkshop2021@dibru.ac.in

Registration: Click Here

Workshop mode: Online

#### **Important Dates:**

Registration opening: 26<sup>th</sup> January, 2021 Registration Deadline: 16<sup>th</sup> February, 2021

Notification for selected

participants (via email): 18th February, 2021

### Speakers:

Prof. Bhupendra Nath Goswami Inaugural Speaker FNA, FASc, FNASc, FTWAS, SERB Distinguished Fellow, Cotton University. India



Dr. Filippo Georgi Keynote Speaker

Group Leader, Earth System Physics, The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy



Prof. Allison L Steiner

Professor
Department of Climate and
Space Sciences and Engineering
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA



Dr. Fabio Di Sante

Post Doctoral Fellow
Earth System Physics, The
Abdus Salam International
Centre for Theoretical Physics



Dr. Ahmed Shalaby

Scientist
University of New Brunswick
(UNB), New Brunswick
Canada



Dr. James Ciarlo

Post Doctoral Fellow
Earth System Physics,
The Abdus Salam International
Centre for Theoretical Physics



Dr. Vijayakumar S Nair

Scientist
Space Physics Laboratory
Vikram Sarabhai Space
Centre, India



Dr. Narendra Ojha

Scientist
Space and Atmospheric
Sciences Division
Physical Research Laboratory
Ahmedabad, India

#### **Organizing Committee:**

Chief Patron: Prof. Ranjit Tamuli

Patrons: Prof. B. R. Sharma & Prof. Dipak Chetia

**Advisor:** Prof. Pradip Kumar Bhuyan

Member Secretary: Dr. Hari Chandra Mahanta

**Technical Committee:** 

Dr. Saumen Acharjee

Dr. Chandrakala Bharali

Mr. Arindam Boruah

Mr. Dhruba Jyoti Gogoi

Mr. Siddhartha Protim Bharadwaj

Mr. Karunakar Borah

Convener:

Dr. Binita Pathak

# Members:

Prof. Kalyan Bhuyan

Dr. Prashanta Kumar Saikia

Dr. Pankaj Dutta

Dr. Umananda Dev Goswami

Dr. Bitap Raj Kalita

Dr. Gouree Shankar Das

Dr. Bulumoni Kalita

Dr. Prabwal Phukon

Dr. Abu T. T. Mostako

Dr. Chandan Duarah

Dr. Nimisha Dutta

Dr. Reeta Devi

Mr. Hari Prasad Saikia