

## MINUTES OF THE 111<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL (EMERGENT), DIBRUGARH UNIVERSITY HELD ON 22.06.2017 (THURSDAY) AT 12-01 P.M. IN THE INDIRA MIRI CONFERENCE HALL, DIBRUGARH UNIVERSITY.

## Members present:

1. Prof. A. K. Buragohain, Vice-Chancellor	-Chairperson
2. Prof. K.D. Hazarika, Dean, School of Humanities and Social	
Sciences	-Member
3. Prof. P.K. Borua, Dean, Research and Development	-Member
4. Prof. L.K. Nath, Dean, School of Science and Engineering	-Member
5. Prof. D. Majumdar, Dean, School of Earth, Atmospheric, Science,	
Environment and Energy	-Member
6. Prof. M. Hazarika, Dean, School of Education	-Member
7. Prof. N.M. Bezborah, Head, Dept of Assamese	-Member
8. Prof. (Ms) P.D. Buzarbaruah, Department of Assamese	-Member
9. Prof. S. Borthakur, Department of Assamese	-Member
10. Prof. J.K. Bora, Department of Assamese	- Member
11. Prof. S.Mahanta, Department of Assamese	- Member
12. Prof. D.K. Chakraborty, Head, Department of Economics	-Member
13. Dr. M. Bordoloi, Head, Department of English	- Member
14. Prof. B. Baruah, Head, Department of History	-Member
15. Prof. N. Baruah, Department of History	- Member
16. Prof. P. Sarma, Head, Dept. of Sociology	-Member
17. Prof. J. Borbora, Dept. of Sociology	-Member
18. Prof. S.V. Borbora, Dept. of Sociology	-Member
19. Dr. P.K. Gogoi, Head, Dept. of Education	-Member
20. Prof. N.K. Baruah, Dept. of Education	-Member
21. Prof. T.K. Goswami, Head, Dept. of Applied-Geology	-Memb <i>er</i>
22. Prof. R.K. Sarmah, Dept. of Applied-Geology	-Member
23. Prof. P. Bhattacharyya, Dept. of Applied-Geology	-Member
24. Prof. K.D. Kalita, Dept. of Applied-Geology	-Member
25. Prof. S. Sengupta, Dept. of Anthropology	-Member
26. Prof. P.N. Deka, Dept. of Mathematics	-Member
27. Dr. K. Bhuyan, Head, Dept. of Physics	-Member
28. Prof. P. Borgohain, Head, Department of Petroleum Technology	- Member
29. Prf. S.C. Kakaty, Head, Department of Statistics	-Member
30. Prof. S. Chakraborty, Dept. of Statistics	-Member
31. Prof. B. Gogoi, Dept. of Statistics	-Member
32. Dr. Amorjit Saikia, Margherita College, Margherita	- Member
33. Sri Dulal Ch. Mahanta, Madhabdev College	- Member
34. Dr. Ranjan Changmai, D.H.S.K. College, Dibrugarh	- Member
35. Dr. R. Saikia, Director, College Development Council	- Member
36. Dr. D.P. Rajkhowa, Director, Directorate of Distance Learning	- Member
37. Dr. B. C. Borah, Deputy Registrar (Academic)	- Member

The Chairperson, Prof. A.K. Buragohain, Vice-Chancellor welcomed the members and informed that the meeting is convened to consider the Resolutions adopted by the Committee constituted by the 110<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Academic Council (Emergent) for discussion and recommendation of a suitable modality for the proposed DUPGET for admission into the MA, M.Sc. and M.Com Programmes for the session 2017-2018 with the representatives of the stakeholders, *viz.*, DUTA, ACPC, ACTA, AASU, AND DUPSU. The Chairperson requested the Deputy Registrar (Academic) to present the Resolution of the Committee which he placed as follows:

- Resolution No.01: Resolved that the University be requested to maintain the status-quo of the academic session 2016-2017 regarding the Admission procedure of the various M.A., M.Sc. and M.Com. Programmes for the 2017-2018 academic session also.
- Resolution No.02: Resolved that the University be requested to constitute a Committee to review its Admission procedure, including holding of the Entrance Test by August, 2017 with the members from various stakeholders, viz, DUPGSU, DUTA, AASU, ACTA and ACPC.
- Prof. S.C. Kakaty, Dept of Statistics expressed that the standardization formula which was implemented in the last year should be reviewed by the faculty members from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

Dr. Dulal Ch. Mahanta, Madhabdev College expressed that the Committee tried its best to convince the stakeholders in favour of the earlier decision of the Academic Council for holing of the Entrance Test. However, the stakeholders unanimously opined for the existing Admission Policy of the University, which was adopted for the academic session 2017-2018as well.

The Council discussed the recommendation of the Committee and arrived at the consensus decision of recommending maintenance of the *status quo* taking into confidence the unanimous recommendation of the stake holders and to withdraw its earlier decision of Entrance Test for admission into the various academic programmes leading to Masters Degrees.

The Chairperson opined that the Resolution No.2 as recommended by the Committee should also be considered and a Committee be constituted to review the admission process pertaining to Entrance Test for the next year.

The following Resolutions were adopted:

Resolution No.01: Resolved that, as recommended by the Committee constituted by the 110<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Academic Council to review the proposed DUPGET 2017, status-quo of the academic session 2016-2017 be maintained in case of the Admission procedure for the various M.A., M.Sc. and M.Com. Programmes in the 2017-2018 academic session as well.

Resolution No.02: Resolved that, as recommended by the Committee constituted by the 110<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Academic Council to review the proposed DUPGET 2017, necessary steps be taken for reviewing the Admission procedure pertaining to the matter of Entrance Test of Dibrugarh University for admission into various Post Graduate programmes by a Committee to be constituted by the Vice Chancellor. The Committee shall submit its recommendation to the University by August, 2017 after consultation with the members from various stakeholders, viz, DUPGSU, DUTA, AASU, ACTA and ACPC

The meeting ended with Vote of Thanks to and from the Chair.

Sd/- M.N.Dutta Registrar and Secretary Academic Council Dibrugarh University Sd/- A.K. Buragohain Vice-Chancellor and Chairperson Academic Council Dibrugarh University

Memo No: DU/DR-A/AC/7-1/17/1025 Date:07.07.2017

Copy to:

- 1. The Vice-Chancellor, Dibrugarh University.
- 2. The Deans, Dibrugarh University.
- 3. The Registrar, Dibrugarh University.
- 4. The Controller of Examinations, Dibrugarh University.

5.	All members of the Academic Council, Dibrugarh University.	
	(Prof./Dr./Ms	
		,

6. File

Sd/ Dr.B.C. Borah Deputy Registrar (Academic) Dibrugarh University